Those of you who are proud of your Red Blood Cell Project (which you should ALL be), then you may post it HERE. Remember, you never know when posting might bee-nefit your grade! Just click 'add comment' and follow the directions below:


*If you wrote out a story then, just copy and paste it into the comment box. 


*If you made a Prezi, google doc, or other form of presentation, copy the address link of your presentation and paste it in the comment box. It will not show up as a 'hyperlink' that can be clicked on to open however, your classmates will be able to copy and paste the link into a search engine to find it. 


*If you created a Powerpoint, let me know that you would like your project posted and I can do that! 
Ethan Trulson and Abby Mcdanal
11/8/2012 12:25:38 am

Cerise: My name is Cerise, I was born into the red blood cell family, and inherently my name is just another shade of red. I never wanted to be a red blood cell you know. I hate doing the same things everyday, all the time. Except for the occasional change in the oxygen drop off point, I jump through the same hoops. I go through the Vena Cava and into the Right Atrium, then down into the Right Ventricle. After that I’m forced into the pulmonary artery to go to the lungs. I get oxygen from the lungs and which is diffused through the Alveoli. Then it’s a boring ride down to the leg or arm muscles. Why couldn’t I have been a white blood cell? I’ve always been a fighter, I just wasn’t meant for the boring life of a red blood cell.

Ashen: My name is Ashen, I am a white blood cell. Now you might think being a warrior and protecting the body from germs is the most rewarding and exciting job a blood cell could have. But I have always wanted to be a red blood cell. I’ve never felt like I quite belonged with the other white blood cells. I feel like I need to do something more important than war. I wonder...?


Cerise: Today I got sick from a germ. The white blood cells need my help. I just can’t imagine living this way for the rest of my life. I hate being a blood cell. The nervous system decided that since we don’t have nuclei, we can’t go to school.But I feel terrible anyway, and whenever I’m sick I just go find a quiet place in the bone marrow and watch new blood cells be born.


Ashen: Ok, so maybe I shirked my duties just a bit. But I was coming up with a plan.The heart is the body's engine room, responsible for pumping life-sustaining blood via a 60,000-mile-long network of vessels. I would have to infiltrate the security systems, but security is a white blood cell job, I might just happen to know a guy. The organ works ceaselessly, beating 100,000 times a day, 40 million times a year—in total clocking up three billion heartbeats over an average lifetime. It might be hard to go against the current but I’ll have to find a way.The heart keeps the body freshly supplied with oxygen and nutrients, while clearing away harmful waste matter. What an honor it would be to serve it. What an honor it would be to be a red blood cell.

Cerise: Sometimes I wish that I was strong enough to rip out the hemoglobin inside me and become the white blood cell I was meant to be.

Ashen: I have just formed the ultimate plan, and it all takes place in the bone marrow. Let me lay out the plan for you, but just as a side note, it’s not for the faint of heart. I want to go to the bone marrow and collect red blood cell DNA from the newbies. They won’t mind, they are so young they won’t even be able to think for themselves. And besides, they’ll grow more. I’ll eventually collect enough to have oxygen withholding capabilities.

Cerise: I know just the person to help me in my quest. I think that I’ll go to the muscles and see if they can rip my hemoglobin out for me. But first I need a white blood cell from the bone marrow.


Ashen: And I am off to the newborn red blood cells to steal -- I mean borrow their DNA.
Later on in the bone marrow

Ashen: After working for hours I finally have enough DNA to become a red blood cell.

Cerise: The muscle fibers helped me switch out my hemoglobin. Now I’m finally ready to become a white blood cell.

Both: A nice long rest in the bone marrow should do it.

Cerise: While I was on my way to the bone marrow a white blood cell ran into me. Slacking off I suppose.

Ashen: While I was on my way to the bone marrow a red blood cell ran into me. Slacking off I suppose.

Cerise: I was mad at first but he seemed nice, and we were both in a hurry. His name was Ashen.

Ashen: I explained my situation to her and she explained hers to me. We decided to go through with our transformations together.

Cerise: When we arrived at the bone marrow, there was only one thing left to do. Go to sleep.

Ashen: When we woke up, we were completely transformed.

Cerise: And we couldn’t wait to take our first ride around the circulatory system as our new selves.

Ashen: And what better place to start then the right atrium.

Cerise: We started our journey from the right atrium by being pushed through into the right ventricle, and out the pulmonary veins.

Ashen: Heading toward the lungs I was oxygenated and taken back to the heart.

Cerise: We then were launched into the pulmonary veins. Me fighting off attacking germs all the while.

Ashen: And into the left atrium where we were again shoved again into the ventricle. Only this time it was the left one.

Cerise: Soon we were thrust into the aorta and down the arteries to some obscure and oddly named part of the body.

Ashen: Shortly thereafter I dropped the oxygen off and we headed back up the veins to start the cycle again

Cerise: And while you might think thing

Reply
11/26/2012 09:35:53 pm

Digestive System Game!

Reply



Leave a Reply.